Review | Molly’s Game by Molly Bloom

Image from the Libby app.

This is a true story about Molly Bloom and it reads like a TV movie. Young girl has high, overachieving siblings, wants to prove herself, gain the freedom to do what she wants. Gets involved with the wrong crowd but is addicted to the money, and loses her friends and relationships, then gets convicted by the US Government for being part of an illegal gambling ring.

Not really a lot else I can say about this book. It was interesting how she spoke about some of the players, especially Tobey Maguire, far out he’s a bit of a dick. I’m sure she had a lot more dirt she could have spilled in the book and I’m kind of disappointed it all seemed to be about Maguire, and she didn’t dish anything else. Although I’m sure there might have been lawsuits threatened for defamation if she tried!

It’s hard to make a book exciting when you know how it’s going to turn out, and fairly early on you start to see everything crumble but she’s so addicted to the money she’s making she can’t stop and save herself.

What I don’t understand – and this could be because I stopped paying much attention to the audiobook – is what was illegal about it? Maybe my ears blinked and I missed it. There was a point in the book where the banks refused to hold her money and I was like that’s weird, but she also had a lawyer that was like it’s fine.

Anyway it all wrapped itself up pretty quickly and without much time spent on the charges and convictions, but I really was a bit bored by then anyway. So all up I’d give it two out of five stars.

Have you read this book? What did you think?


Comments

Leave a comment